Favorite Places to Write

Hi Fellow Bloggers,
This week I want to share with you my favorite places to write. This is going to be more abstract than physical places. If you haven’t noticed already I am a bit eccentric. I don’t feel as though it’s a bad thing, but it does cause people to ponder my strangeness at times. I don’t know if that’s the cause for all writer or majority of us… but if it is I will be happy about the news. If not I think being strange is a good thing so I will still be happy. I say all this to kind of justify this post.
I love writing when it’s quiet. I love being surrounded by nature. I feel called to it when I want to write. Either being outside surrounded by trees, a lake, or a sunset/sunrise or having access to it through a window. That way every time I look up from a thought I can see beauty. I can be drawn into the tranquility of it. I find peace and my mind redirects to what I was focused on in the first place. I am less likely to get distracted in such a setting. My writing is always more pure in this setting. I seem to really respect what I put on the page. I always walk away feeling at ease with life. If I am on a laptop writing I like to have a table. If I am writing in my journal I prefer to be laying down. With my cheek on the flap and my hand on the paper. It makes me feel connected to my characters. Their story is mine and mine is theirs.
The only way I can write if it’s loud is if I am listening to music through headphones. If the T.V. is on and people are talking. Or if I am in a crowded room. I like to put my headphones in to block them out. It always the noise to kind of cancel each other out. Otherwise I can’t concentrate. In this situation I like to be sitting as far as I can from the noise. That way I don’t keep looking around to see what is going on.
At my parent’s restaurant my favorite place to write was at the hostess stand. I would stand up there away from everyone else with my journal and just write. I wouldn’t let listen to the T.V. or the music playing. I would just open up my journal read the last page to get back into the story and begin writing.
My favorite place to write at home was in my room. I would lay out on my bed with my journal and just write. My room is where I would write a lot of my poetry. That was the only place where I could freely express my emotions without being judged. It was my safe haven. A space where I could just write down all the crap that I was going through. I have more spirals than I care to filled with poetry.
My favorite place to write in my sister’s apartment is at the kitchen table. She has three windows that look out to a lake. When the evening is approaching I take my seat at the table and watch the sunset over the lake. During the day as I write I watch the sun reflect off the water. It brings me a lot of comfort.
There are days when I just feel like writing. On those days I try to wake up early. I am most definitely a morning person without the aid of coffee. I actually can’t stand the stuff. I love getting up and being by myself as I decide the events of the day. Which usually included some sort of writing. If I am not working on a book. I am writing poetry, doing blog post, writing a story for class, writing a story for a magazine, helping my sister write papers. I am always writing. I don’t mind it is my love affair after all. Before the day starts officially. I have this urge. I have these eager thoughts that scream write something… please just write something…. Anything. I’ll pick up my journal and try to write, but that won’t be it for that day. Then I’ll try my hand at poetry. Not it either. I won’t feel like working on an assignment. So I’ll start typing up my book. Then inspiration strikes. I start rewrites for the book. Somehow my writing itch gets scratched. Well I got off topic again. I hope that you got a good idea of my favorite writing places.

Leave a comment